top of page
Search

A Day in Life as Skip Hopscotch

Hello everybody! I’m Skip Hopscotch Rabbit, a crittizen of Cloverleaf Corner and a resident of the Cloverleaf Countryside. I am the first son of Harlin Hopscotch and Heidi Choch. I have 3 elder sisters, 2 younger sisters and one younger brother.


I usually wake up right before my dad, Harlin, goes to work. I jump up and rush to the balcony and wave farewell. I shout, "Bye, dad!"


Then I go brush my teeth (the usual bathroom business) and come down to have breakfast. Bellia and Ava, the morning critters, have just finished up. Karen and David are eating outside.


Typically I have breakfast with my elder sister, Bell. While waiting for breakfast, I sit on the plush green armchairs and read the Calico Times. I usually skip the furniture ads, the Deluxe Village House has almost everything. The only thing lacking is a pizza oven, pizza, a hot tub and a room full of candy!


By the time Ava and Bellia are done, I have finished the newspaper. Mom gave us donuts today and some coffee. Bell and I talk, and after the last bite I dash off upstairs. I'm visiting the babies, of course! They sleep on the third floor. Though, Grace and Harrison sleep in me and Bell's room, considering their toddlers. Grace used everything to convince dad she was big enough. I still remember her voice over the phone before she returned from her exchange trip. She had pleaded, "Daddy, please! I'm a big girl, I wanna sleep with the big kids. Please, daddy!"


Everyone's there, Henry is on the rocking horse. Grace, Honey and Harrison are having a tea party. Hopper is playing with his toy boat. I wave to them, play peekaboo, and enjoy myself.


Not long later, I am reminded of the dreadfully inevitable: homeschooling.


I dislike studying a lot. I can not focus most of the time. When I come down to begin, my math notebook is already there. David is across from me, reading. We sigh at the same time with the same question in our minds, When do we get to go?


Time must have slowed when I was doing math problems and reading. It felt like forever! Finally, mom said we were dismissed after we finished up. David bounces up off the seat shouting, "Come on, Skip! Let's go!" We run out and play one of our favorite games, Guess the Culprit. David makes 5 different profiles for 5 culprits and already has one in mind. We work around the house and he leaves clues. Then I got to figure out whodunit.


"It was Mr.Teddy!" I cry after collecting the clues.


David snickers, "Took you a while."


I give him a playful punch in the arm and respond, "This one was tough. I kept thinking it would be Miss Haydee Coldfoot."


Then my mom calls me over. She was preparing a delightful squash and biscuit bake for lunch. I'm instructed to go buy 3 pieces of bread from the Tuxedo Cats' bakery, Flour to Dough.


Happily, I went over next door. Mrs.Charcoal and her daughters are heading out. Aunt Teri is in front of the house. She's here to pick up the cats for ballet class since Mrs.Charcoal is the teacher.



I pick 3 breads: a cream filled rabbit head, three mini croissants and a vegan cheese bread! Mr.Tuxedo even throws in the house special because they use our showers. The house special is so good, it's chocolate filled!


When I get home, I have lunch with Bell. We talk about our day and whatnot. Mom’s squash bake and biscuits is so good. Then Bellia and I head upstairs to feed the babies. Grace, who is usually a good girl, refuses to eat her sandwiches today. Her lips are zipped shut, with only sandwiches left on her plate. “This is preposterous!” shouts Bellia, “Grace, eat your food!”


I chime in, “A big girl eats all her food. Are you a big girl, Grace?”


Reluctantly, Grace takes a nibble before finishing everything. “Am I a big girl now?” she asks.


Bellia and I nod, feeling happy that the trick worked yet again. It isn’t too late in the afternoon and I offer to take the babies over to the Lakeside District. It is a brisk 40 minute walk after all. We can still there and walk over to the Toy Shop and ask dad to drive us back for dinner. Mom agrees, so David and I start walking. Grace, Harrison, Henry, Honey and Hopper come along. Honey is in the stroller for now and Henry is being held by David. Grace insists on walking because she’s a “big kid” and Harrison follows her idea. Hopper, full of energy, chooses to crawl. Later on, he switches places with his twin.


When we arrive the baby gang rushes to the Baby Ropeway Park. It definitely is a brilliant idea of Ava's. I'm glad the mayor's daughter moved here. She's already added a new district to the Cloverleaf Countryside county. I cannot wait for more innovative ideas. Felicia Tuxedo welcomes us with food. David and I grab 2 trays of food and eat by the tables.


After an hour, Felicia yells from the window. She says, "Guys, you better start heading to the Toy Shop. Your father is going to leave soon!"


"Thanks!" we shout in unison.


Unfortunately the babies are too induced in their game to notice. They refuse to line up and get ready to leave. That is until Grace steps in. "Come on guys! Follow me, the big girl!" she exclaims.


They all look up. "One of their own" has spoken. Then Harrison, the most senior of the group adds, "Let's follow, Grace! She amazing big kid."


Grace, beaming, brings the rest towards David and I. "Good job," Davud says, whilst clapping his paws.


When we reach the Toy Shop, dad drives us home. Then we line up for showers. The line snakes all the way to the hallway because our next door neighbors, the Tuxedo Cats and Ginni Golightly, use our bathroom. They compensate for the inconvenience with free bread. It's the country way, of course. In a small village, most is shared. The line inches forward slowly and slowly.


When it's finally my turn I rush in. I use some fur conditioner, leaving me all fluffy and soft. For dinner, mom made carrot bit biscuits with squash soup. I love it, her carrot bit biscuits are delish! After dinner, I lounge around at the Deluxe Living Room. Dad says I can watch TV, and just my luck! There's a play about a fairy tale. I believe it's Felicity and the Wizard of Paws.


Soon, I have to go to bed. I say good night to everyone, which takes a while. There are twelve critters living in my house! Life in the countryside is so nice, even if the shower lines are long and I sometimes forget Harrison's name.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page